Book Review: Career of Evil

Read: 18 Jan 2017
Finished: 7 Feb 2017

career

Summary

Private Detective Cormoran Strike takes up a case closer to home when his employee, Robin Ellacott, receives a mysterious package that contains a woman’s severed leg. Despite enlisting the Police for assistance, Strike goes on a hunt for the culprit with the names of four people whom he had crossed paths with. Will Strike be able to solve this case before any harm comes to Robin?

Review

Unfortunately, this was probably the least exciting book in the Cormoran Strike series for me. Not only was I finding it a chore to finish the book, I fell asleep a couple of times as I struggled to the end.

Like I’ve said before lengthy description is an issue with this series of novels. Though I can understand that it was to further develop the characters in Rowling’s own way, it still felt unnecessary and too long-winded. Perhaps it is the plot that could have warranted the need for these many fillers, but what previously worked for the first two books certainly didn’t work for this novel.

I did like the growing partnership between Robin and Strike for this one as he grew protective of her as the plot develops. The character development for Robin definitely helped give readers a way to understand her behavior and personality a lot more. There was a moment in the book where I saw Robin in a new light, until she decided to head back in the direction she came from which then disappointed me a little. The more-than-platonic relationship developing between Robin and Strike is more obvious in this book, which accounted for my annoyance with Matthew at certain points.

The climatic ending was a little underwhelming as compared to the previous two books. Not only did it feel rushed, but I didn’t feel the same ‘ah-ha’ moment like I did with the others. It seemed like a haphazard guessing game for me, which ultimately became a confusing conclusion to the story. The saving grace for the ending was the affirmation of reliance between Strike and Robin though the setting could have been a better one.

Nonetheless, I still wouldn’t give up on this series even though I very nearly wanted to stop reading this book. It wasn’t terrible but it definitely couldn’t keep my attention for long.

Rating:

hearthearthalfheart

Leave a Reply

