Book Review: The Last Star

Read: 7 Feb 2017
Finished: 9 Feb 2017

laststar

Summary

The Last Star is the last book in The 5th Wave Trilogy where Cassie and the group of remaining survivors decide if it is more important to save themselves; or save what makes them human.

Review

I was originally going to read this after I finished The Infinite Sea last year but Google got in my way and I inadvertently found out the ending. Forgetting what I came across, I picked up the book this year and managed to finish it within 2 days.

I must state that I am a Ben + Cassie shipper, and I had hoped that they’d get together somehow. Comparing to the previous two books, there was a shift in personality of the characters for me and I found myself starting to dislike a few of them. It could be because the environment had changed them and they were starting to take on characteristics that helped them to survive.

Cassie, though annoying, was bearable previously but got on my nerves in this last book especially in the way she behaved around Evan Walker. She was not only wishy-washy about her feelings about Evan; she was behaving a little immaturely given the situation they were in. She did however redeem herself towards the end of the book when she made the sacrifice to give up her life to save others.

The plot on a whole wrapped up the trilogy nicely though there was still room left for a possible sequel. I liked that Rick Yancey gave the other characters a pretty good ending which didn’t leave the reader imagining on his behalf.

The Last Star concludes The 5th Wave Trilogy and it is a good series to pick up for Dystopian lovers.

Rating:

heartheartheart

Leave a Reply

