Book Review: Everything, Everything

Read: 15 Feb 2017
Finished: 17 Feb 2017

 

everything

Summary

Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. Living in her safely sanitized home, Madeline has never once left her house in all of her seventeen years for fear of the threat to her life. But, when a new family with a son named Olly moves in next door, she is left wanting more than the safety of her protective bubble. Will she risk losing everything to experience life outside for once?

Review

I’m giving this book a 4-heart review though I wanted very much to give it a full 5-hearts.

The format of the book was easy to read and I especially liked the drawings and graphics the pages offered as part of the story. The characters were likable and Madeline’s character was made to be relatable in a few ways (i.e. the reaction when one meets a cute next-door neighbor). The relationship between Olly and Maddy was definitely one that I warmed up to instantly, which made me feel protective whenever they seemed to be under threat. Though many might argue that their relationship felt fast-paced, it is important to remember the Maddy’s illness as a factor. In fact, there were several moments in the book where I’d get upset because I thought it was unfair to put Maddy through those heartaches.

However, with that said, I must honestly admit that the book didn’t conclude in a way I thought it would have. I had been building an ending up in my head as I dived further into the book. It seemed an inevitable sort of conclusion until that twist in the plot. Though I wouldn’t say I didn’t like the twist, I did find it disappointing that it didn’t help the plot much. The pace of the story started to feel a lot more hurried with Madeline’s character getting lost in the mix.

It’s suffice to say that this was one of the rare few times that I’d love to have seen a bit more fillers.

Though simply worded, I felt that the reunion of Olly and Madeline could have done with a bit more dialogue. They had been separated for a good number of months prior to their reunion with less to no communication, and it would have been nice to read a small exchange between the two. Though I’d understand that the open-ended ending was pretty self-explanatory, it would have been nice for the two of them to address the few-months-old gap in their relationship in words.

Nonetheless, Everything, Everything is still a good book that I’d recommend to my friends. I’m looking forward to read her next book that is currently in my TBR list!

Rating

heartheartheartheart

Leave a Reply

