Book Review: Red Queen

Read: 17 Feb 2017
Finished: 26 Feb 2017

redqueen

Summary

Mare Barrow is living in a dystopian world divided by Red blood and Silver blood. Being a Red blood from the poverty-stricken Stilts, her world has always been the same. But, a chance meeting with a mysterious boy eventually turns her world upside down. Mare is suddenly thrust into the world of Silvers as a long-lost Silver princess, engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that any misstep would equal death, Mare risks it all and silently aids the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, in bringing about the downfall of the Silvers. Would her actions seal her fate or has she entered into a dangerous world of betrayal and lies?

Review

When I first picked up the book, I had originally thought it was a part of the Fantasy genre. But, I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was from the Dystopian genre. As I went on further into the book, I couldn’t help but think, am I reading the semi-modern-young-adult version of Game of Thrones? Don’t get me wrong – I liked it. In fact, it helped me visualize Lena Headey as Elena, the evil queen.

Unlike other popular dystopian novels, Aveyard’s characters in the Red Queen are unique and gives off a slight sci-fi vibe that is reminiscent of X-Men. When I was first introduced to Mare Barrow in the book, I had thought her character was pretty stereotypical (like most girls in this genre) – defying the law, behaving like a rebel. But, after she entered the palace and discovered her ability, she started to take shape as a stand-out character in this genre.

I also like that she didn’t feel the need to strike a balance between good and evil for her characters. If her character had a nasty reputation, they lived up to it. There was no in-between. Her characters definitely helped shape the plot which was different and refreshing. While still having the fundamental tyrannical rule in place as a essential story pillar, Aveyard has added her own take on how this future world should be saved.

Like Sabaa Tahir, Aveyard doesn’t shy away from describing the nitty-gritty of a fight scene, which really helps give the reader a way of visualizing the scene. Though I can’t say I liked some of the descriptions I’ve read, it definitely added credibility for a dystopian world that was cruel and heartless.

Though there were some areas in the book which I didn’t particularly like *cough*Mare’s ‘I-can’t-I-can’ moments*cough*, the book on a whole was pretty good. I now understand why this series is such a hit and am looking forward to reading the second book.

Rating

heartheartheartheart

Leave a Reply

